Frozen apple cider help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MiBeerMan

Reaction score
So this is my first post on this forum so Hello everyone from Northern Michigan. Question is Im new to hard cider and I just bought a gallon straight from one of our local orchards. Thing is, is that it was frozen no preservatives and unpasteurized apple cider. Is there anything i need to do to it before pitching the yeast other than obviously thawing it out. Thank you

It's fine just to pitch yeast. Some people use sulfites and/or pectinase.

Welcome to HBT!

It's fine just to pitch yeast. Some people use sulfites and/or pectinase.

Welcome to HBT!

thank you for the reply. Looks like you've made a belgian tripel. Looking forward to eventually starting my beer journey and that is going to be one of them. Our homebrew supply store sells that and it is delicious

So i am trying out the nottingham yeast on one of my 1 gallon experimental batches and and using local indian summer apple juice. Apple juice by itself was 1.051 and i added just short of 1.25 lbs brown sugar and it jumped the OG to 1.10. But i am having a stopper issue. Does anyone else have problem with stopper popping out? The guys at the brew store said it was the correct one for my 1 gallon glass jug

Make sure both the stopper and the inside of the mouth of the jug are dry. Wipe with a clean paper towel if needed.

Does freezing kill off the wild yeast and other nasties making campden unnecessary? I suppose it could..... if so, I might just start practicing that.

So why use campden?

Edit: newby question.
Some people don't. Many wine yeasts can be fermented cool, which further reduces growth of the wild microbes. Fermenting cool has the added benefit of preserving more apple flavor.