First time using Columbus... and we're going big.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skelator

Reaction score
A few buddies and I have been brewing for a few years between all of us. We've done some hoppy beers (80, 95, 125, 130 ibus) and we've done some high abv beers (8.8, 9.9, 10.2) but for the hell of it, we want to go bigger. Not only do we want to go bigger but we want to use Columbus (a hop only 1 guy has used... and only one time in a small amount) as the main contributor. However, i've read and heard that you can easily overdo the Columbus, so the question is... how much is too much? Being a hophead, and surrounded by the like, you could say 'dont worry, if you like hops, you'll be fine' but i ask because a lot of people almost talk like they fear the end result. Anyways, take a look below and let me know what ya'll think.

We're thinking something in the neighborhood of 12-13%, ibu's around 180 (bu:gu 1.4-1.5).

13.5# Light DME
1.0# Crystal 60
1.0# Dextrose

2.00 Columbus @ 60
2.25 Magnum @ 60 (to help clean up some of the bitterness)
1.00 Columbus @ 20
0.25 Centennial @ 10 (to break it up a little bit)
0.50 Chinook @ 10
1.00 Columbus @ 10
0.25 Centennial @ 5
0.50 Chinook @ 5
1.50 Columbus @ 5

0.25 Centennial @ 14 days
0.25 Chinook @ 14 days
1.50 Columbus @ 14 days

0.25 Centennial @ 7 days
0.75 Columbus @ 7 days

Too much? Too little? Will it get lost in the other hops? More dry hop?

:mug::mug:

remember that above 100 ibus isn't really possible to calculate so you may as well load the extra bittering hops into the late-additions so that you get more taste than bitting. does that make sense?