First time brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewzorback

Reaction score
It's my first time brewing and i'm starting with an all grain (I know people are telling me I'm crazy). I think I have it pretty much figured out other than one part.... I'm looking at recipe ie that has 13lb of 2row and appx 2.5 lbs of other grains. It say to add the crushed grains to mash tun with 3.75 gallons of strike water... I assume you add the grains other than the 2row to the mash as well? Where is the water for these grains if your suppose to use approx 1.3 quarts for every lb of grain? I'm confuzzed a little

Yes you add all the grains to the mash tun. I use brewersfriend.com to calculate my strike water and temps and suggest that you use the same or similar software to help with your all grain brewing.

Read this if you haven't already http://www.howtobrew.com/intro.html it's a great resourse when your just getting started and will get you inocculated to terms and procedures. I can't recommend it enough since you're just starting.
Yes you'll mix all your grains in together.
Strike water is the water you use when mashing in.The amount of water and temp depend on how much grain you're using. A simple strike water calulater like http://www.brewheads.com/strike.php is easy to use and if you want a bit more involved check out http://www.brew365.com/mash_sparge_water_calculator.php
The 1.3 q/lb your refering to is your mash thickness, the amount of water per lb of grain. You can go higher/lower with that number but put some time into learning how a thicker vs thinner mash preforms so you know how to adapt it for certain brews as it can change different things and avoid stuck sparges.