First starter/harvest

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

metanoia

Reaction score
I'm working on a starter right now for my brew day on Saturday and had a couple questions.

First of all, I'm using the dregs of three bottles of Bell's Pale Ale (making a 2 Hearted clone) and it's my first time trying to harvest commercial beer yeast. I basically followed Palmer's advice on making a starter from commercial beer; I added the dregs to a starter wort (2 cups water and 1/2 cup DME, boiled 10 minutes with 1/4 tsp yeast nutrient) on Saturday night (original brew day was Tuesday but had to move to Saturday). Sunday and Tuesday night I added the same kind of wort to the starter jar, which is a 2qt juice bottle.

I never noticed any activity from the bottle, but I've just had tin foil over the top, no airlock. The yeast seems to have built up pretty well, about a 1/2 on the bottom of the starter jar. My plan is to add one more amount of wort tonight, cold crash in the fridge Friday night, then bring it out Saturday and decant before pitching.

Does this sound right or is there a better way to go about this? Thanks.

With no stir plate I assume? You will want to shake the starter up every time you walk by it while its doing jts thing. This will help continue to introduce oxygen to the mixture, and you will get a better starter.

Some of the starters I have done have showed very lil activity, others have produced an inch of foam in the flask. Some were done completely in 12-16 hrs, some have taken 36 hrs on a stir plate to get done. Just depend on their viability. I would assume the commercial yeast will need at least two steps in that starter to get to a pitchable cell count. Sounds like your on the right track.