First cider attempt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Punbrewing

Reaction score
Today I Started my first hard cider fermentation.
im brewing in a 1/2 gal growler (small batches for experiments).
Im relatively new at this (by relatively new i mean entirely new). I used Red Star pastur Champagne yeast (e491? at least thats the number on the packet) about a 1/2 to 1 tablespoon.
Personally i want to keep it in the fermentor (growler) for about 2 weeks and then maybe secondary although im not sure.

I have a couple of questions.
1. How long should i keep it in the fermentor?
2. Is secondary necessary if you don't intend to use flavoring (at least this time)?
3. Am i using too many () ? :off:

Thank you

sounds great, with a wine yeast the secondary might not be necessary, but it would help with a small amount probably not needed, after all that i just did my first cider as well, only i made 4.5 gallons with s-05 yeast to produce a more commercial american cider, let keep in touch and share info on our newest creations:drunk:

Keep it in the primary as long as possible 3+ weeks

My recipe is
wyeast cider yeast (4766)
1.5 # of molasses
2.5 lbs of clover honey
8 gallons of costco brand apple juice
2 gallons of fresh squeezed (Colombia river gorge brand ) unfiltered

I'm deciding on wether or not to start another cider using an aliquot of the cider that i have started about a week ago.
I'm not sure if i should do this or if i should hold off until i can get more yeast or if i should go full steam ahead with this plan.
Any Ideas.