First Brew Day w/ pics

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

knightshift

Reaction score
Brewed my first home brew yesterday! I am pretty proud of myself considering I've never done anything like this before. Just wanted to commemorate the event with some pictures and a few comments.

th_CopyofPicture10011.jpg

This is the ingredient kit I ordered from AHB supply... Bavarian Hefeweizen

th_Picture10141.jpg

This is the set up I'm brewing with. Turkey fryer...works great!

th_Picture1015.jpg

Steeping the grains...one of the best smells I’ve ever smelled

th_Picture1024a.jpg

Boiling the extract and hops

(continued below.....4 pics max...)

Looks spot on to me. I had that same thermometer. When you go all grain, toss it, it won't be accurate enough. I found mine was off by about 10 degrees, ended up getting a better one the same day I went all grain for the first time.

The propane burner on the wood floor is a little worrisome. Did you use that indoors? Just so you know, man caves that are converted into breweries have an exhaust fan to avoid CO poisoning.

th_Picture10181.jpg

This is the monster wort chiller i built...

th_Picture1030.jpg

210 degrees to 80 degrees in 9 minuets flat!!!

th_Picture1031.jpg

Had my hands full transfering the wort to the fermentor and pitching the yeast, ect....so no pics of that, but here it is...air lock chuging away after about 12 hours....Yes!!!

Looks spot on to me. I had that same thermometer. When you go all grain, toss it, it won't be accurate enough. I found mine was off by about 10 degrees, ended up getting a better one the same day I went all grain for the first time.