English IPA hop question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Donner

Reaction score
Thinking of making the E IPA from Jamil's show and had a question. It calls for 1.43 oz of Challenger. I've never used challenger before so i don't know what to expect from it really. I'm curious if i could sub some Galena for it, instead, since i have a 1lb of it already.

Just seeing if i can use my reserves before buying new hops. I looked at BYO's hop resource and the two weren't cross listed, but i wasn't sure if it would be okay since this is the 60 min addition and is more for bittering than flavor.

thanks.

This is the beer alchemy report i copied off the podcast last night. Mash is at 152° for an hour.

OG 1.062
IBUs ~50
color ~11 SRM
UK Pale Ale Malt 12lb 4oz 86.7 % 6.1 In Mash/Steeped
UK Wheat Malt 8.00 oz 3.5 % 0.2 In Mash/Steeped
Belgian Biscuit Malt 8.00 oz 3.5 % 1.8 In Mash/Steeped
US Caramel 40L Malt 8.00 oz 3.5 % 3.3 In Mash/Steeped
US Caramel 120L Malt 6.00 oz 2.7 % 7.5 In Mash/Steeped

UK Challenger 8.0 % 1.43 oz 43.3 Bagged Pellet Hops 60 Min From End
UK Fuggle 5.0 % 1.50 oz 6.2 Bagged Pellet Hops 10 Min From End
UK Golding 5.0 % 1.50 oz 0.0 Bagged Pellet Hops At turn off

nottinghamg

I think you want to keep the challenger. They have a distinct flavor, even at the bittering addition. I love challenger hops, they are pretty polarizing for most people. They remind me of new mown green hay. I think that hop mix is great and is close to my Best Bitter mix.

That being said the Galena would work but may end up a little different but i'd still drink it with you!