EC-1118 stuck after 48hrs?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AustinFromTexas

austinfrom_tx
Reaction score
Hey all, newbie question here although I've been brewing for a few years. This is my second time making hard cider and I'm doing the exact same recipe I did before (4gals apple juice + 1 to back-sweeten) however this time my fermentation seems to have stopped after 48hrs.

Here's the run down:

I used 3gals of store bought juice (no preservatives) and was able to get 2 gals of fresh pressed juice from a friend's orchard. 1 of these gallons I put into primary with the intent to back sweeten with the second fresh-pressed gallon.

I've added 3lbs of sugar to the batch to push the OG up to 1.084 and pitched a dry packet of EC-1118 straight into the fermenter.
I didn't have any yeast nutrient or campden tablets on hand to use but from what I've read about EC-1118 being such a "beast" I figured it should work out fine.

24hrs into ferm it was bubbling away fine, about once every minute so im happy enough that everything is fine. Fast forward another 24hrs and I come home from work to a dead quiet airlock... I've taken a gravity reading and it's dropped to 1.080 which I was expecting to see have dropped a bit more TBH.

This is my first time using the "beast" but also the first time I've ever had a stuck fermentation so I'm a bit puzzled as to what went wrong.

Temperature is at 64f(17c) so I don't think it should be too cold for this yeast but maybe I'm wrong?

Should I try adding some nutrient? Perhaps repitching altogether? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Before you do anything wait another 24h and take another gravity reading. Airlocks can be deceiving if there is a leak somewhere.