Critique my recipe please!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCasey1992

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all! I'm trying my hand at creating my own recipe and would appreciate some feedback. I'm trying to make a brown ale with a nutty and lightly chocolatey flavor profile. I have done a lot of research but this is my first attempt at creating a recipe on my own so please be gentle lol.

Here's what I've come up with so far:

GRAINS
7 lbs pale malt, maris otter (3.0 SRM)
1 lb crystal 60L (60 SRM)
1 lb victory malt (25 SRM)
4 oz chocolate malt (450 SRM)

HOPS
1 oz Willamette @60 minutes
.5 oz Willamette @ 10 minutes

YEAST
Wyeast British Ale II

MASH SCHEDULE
Mash at 156 for 60 minutes
Mash out at 168 for 10 minutes

Let me know if you need anything else. thanks in advance for your feedback.

It looks good - I'd definitely drink it.

The only thing I would suggest some Brown malt, but not sure of the amount; Brown malt has some pretty special characteristics that would probably work well with that you are doing.

Maybe a little wheat, too.

Hope this helps -

Ron

It looks good - I'd definitely drink it.

The only thing I would suggest some Brown malt, but not sure of the amount; Brown malt has some pretty special characteristics that would probably work well with that you are doing.

Maybe a little wheat, too.

Hope this helps -

Ron

Thanks for the help. Here is my updated grain bill:

GRAINS
7 lbs pale malt, maris otter (3.0 SRM)
1 lbs brown malt (65 SRM)
8 oz crystal 60L (60 SRM)
8 oz victory malt (25 SRM)

Hopefully that'll work. If there is anything else let me know.

Cheers!
Casey

1 pound of brown malt is a lot. A little goes a long way, especially with chocolate malt in the mix.

Thanks! I adjusted as follows: