Corn Sugar vs Flaked Corn

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HTown_Brewmeister

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm fairly new to the brewing scene and I'm looking to make a recipe I've seen for "Cincinnati Cream Ale". In reading about the types of cream ales's it sounds like corn is a big part of the flavor of these creme ales. The recipe I'm planning on using is a "Partial Grain" recipe that suggests using 1 lb of corn sugar. I'm thinking of using Flaked Corn instead. I have two questions:

1) To ensure that the flaked corn "starch" conversion happens correctly, do I need to put it in with the other grain (0.25 lb. CaraPils at 170 F for 30 min)? If not how/ when should I add it to the recipe?

2) Do I use the same amount of flaked corn as corn sugar?

Thanks,

Mike

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to the brewing scene and I'm looking to make a recipe I've seen for "Cincinnati Cream Ale". In reading about the types of cream ales's it sounds like corn is a big part of the flavor of these creme ales. The recipe I'm planning on using is a "Partial Grain" recipe that suggests using 1 lb of corn sugar. I'm thinking of using Flaked Corn instead. I have two questions:

1) To ensure that the flaked corn "starch" conversion happens correctly, do I need to put it in with the other grain (0.25 lb. CaraPils at 170 F for 30 min)? If not how/ when should I add it to the recipe?

2) Do I use the same amount of flaked corn as corn sugar?

Thanks,

Mike