Cool Brewing Bag

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alex1

Reaction score
As a beginner I was not real sure how I was going to hold temps on my fermentation. I dont have the space or desire to buy or run another chest freezer just to make beer. The over all cost of a big appliance being plugged in 24/7 pushes the cost per case through the roof IMHO.

So I did a trial batch just keeping the carboy out at ambient temp. Temps ran a little too high to be just right (72). So I was in a bind and had no idea what to do. So I tried the swamp cooler method affective but a PITA big time. Than a buddy came across this cool brewing bag and suggested it to me.

To Make a Long story a little shorter wow best 65 bucks spent. I think any of you guys just starting this like me should buy this with your kits. My first batch with it I put two 2litters in and it actually inhibited fermentation (all the way down to 54 inside the carboy!)so I had to cut it to just one two litter. Temp holds close to sixty four with just one! I have no doubt at all that with a little tweeking I could lager in this thing. I dont give good reveiws on things if they suck but I could not be happier here. Just thought this reveiw could help a few other lowly greenhorns.

On a side not if anyone has lagered in the bag post up how you went about it.

(all the way down to 54 inside the carboy!)

who'lly cow!!!! Not to doubt you but thats better numbers than my 16 seer air conditioner.
The math is easy but long and boring. That's the best math I've ever seen for anything that was't forced cooling. These folks have discovered the finest insulation ever. It even increases energy.