Cleaning an old glass carboy

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

geeeelok

Reaction score
I'm new to secondary fermenting, and I borrowed an ancient glass carboy from a friend for the batch I'm working on now (started fermenting last saturday).

After cleaning with PBW and scrubbing vigorously with a carboy brush, there's STILL a thin white film on the inside of the glass. Anybody know what this might be? Or how to get rid of it? I'm pretty cautious with sanitation, and new to the secondary fermenter, so I'm hesitant to throw a batch in there.

Thoughts???

IMG_1471.jpg

IMG_1472.jpg

Back when I was making wine my carboys got stained like that. I put a PBW extra strong solution in them and left them for a couple weeks and all of that disappeared. Then I did a normal cleaning and sanitized and they are fine.

Hey, thanks -- I think I'll fill it up again with PBW and leave it for a few days, maybe see what that'll do.

I got rid of a film like that in my carboy by putting the PBW in there and forgetting about it for 2-3+ weeks, went away without any scrubbing. If you finish another brew and the 1st carboy is done, you can re-use the PBW solution, I guess I'm just cheap and try not to waste anything.

Thanks everybody!!

Podz - Any particular method to remove the acetone afterwards? And how much should I use? All the links I'm hitting just indicate its use as a nail polish remover.

Thanks everybody!!

Podz - Any particular method to remove the acetone afterwards? And how much should I use? All the links I'm hitting just indicate its use as a nail polish remover.

You can remove acetone residue with methanol.

I'd say half a litre of each, for a large carboy.

Don't light a match while you've got the carboy full of acetone ;-)