Cheapest Sanitizer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

triangulum33

Whenever it feels right!
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been a StarSan user since I started brewing a few years ago, but I'm wondering if there is a cheaper/better alternative.

Besides bleach, what is your favorite/cheapest sanitzer?

I use both star san and iodophor. I use star san on anything plastic and use iodophor for everything else. Iodophor is way cheaper than star san, and I like it becasue I can mix up 5 gallons or so and fill whatever I'm sanitizing to avoid the whole shaking or rolling on the floor bit. Plus it doesn't foam up (lets not get into the whole "Don't fear the foam thing.") But, you need a longer contact time with iodophor and it stains just about anything except for glass and metal. Also, when I mix up star san, I only make enough for what I'm doing. When I'm racking or brewing, I'll mix up 1.25 gallons (1/4 of the instructed usage). If I'm making starters, I'll mix up 1/8 of the reccemmended usage. If I'm sanitizing a beer line, I'll make up a couple cups worth and just guess at the concentration. I brew a lot of beer, and one big bottle of star san lasts me between a year and a year and a half. A big bottle of iodophor lasts me a couple three years.

32oz container of Starsan costs about $17 and it lasts me almost two years using 1oz per batch. The price is worth the piece of mind.....

Yeah it's really all about star san. A small price to pay for the convenience. You can always mix up less and to the whole shake thing. Spray bottles work well too.

Star San all the way. You only need a tiny bit so it goes a long way. I only use 1/2 oz per batch and that gets reused to sanitize carboys and everything else for a couple weeks.