Carbing Golden Strong Ale ( Duvel Clone)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpzep4

Reaction score
Style guidelines say carb to 4+ volumes. I'm new to kegging and have only done about 3 batches so far. None of which were ever over 2.5 volumes.

Here's the simple (possibly stupid) question: BeerSmith says carb at 34 PSI to achieve 4.2 volumes. But for how long? When following BS carb guidelines does it assume set it and forget it method? And how long do you "forget" it when following that method?

Most posts I found when searching talked about setting to as high as 35 PSI for 36 hours then cutting way back but that seems to be for "normal" carb volumes, i.e. 2.5-3. volumes. I assume I could just double that and end up close but was looking for a little more precision

Thanks

That would be the "set and forget it" pressure. I'd say 2-3 weeks and it should be OK.

That high carbonation is to style and should give you a pretty damn good beer (I love highly carbed tripels and golden strongs) but make sure your system's balanced enough so you won't get a glass full of foam. You'll probably need 30 feet of tubing to slow it down, or else you can look into the epoxy mixing insert (I think that thread's called "the cure for your short hose troubles")

Thanks for the reply. So just confirming, you're saying leave the beer on 35-36 PSI for 2-3 weeks? Just a bit concerned about overcarbing (which is clearly a relative term when talking about 4 volumes!!!)

Okay so let me show a bit more ignorance here. In reading about tubing length and epoxy inserts, I'm assuming that a beer this highly carbed is going to come blasting out, extremely foamy with my 5 ft length tubing, even if I back the serving pressure down to 5-6 PSI. Right?