Brown Ale Recipe Critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tally350z

Reaction score
Getting ready to brew an English Brown Ale for my sisters wedding in November. Just want to see what others thought about this recipe.

8# MO
1# Victory
8oz Crystal 60
12oz UK-Chocolate (450srm)
1oz Fuggles 60 Min
OG - 1.050
FG - 1.012
14.1 IBUs
25.9 SRM

I was thinking of using the London Ale III yeast from Wyeast, but I have never used it before. Is it a good yeast for an English Brown?

Shooting for something similar to the Brown Malty style in Bru'n Water. I use RO water and in order for me to add the bicarbonate back I use Baking Soda, because I have had zero luck finding pickling lime. So the final results of the water additions get me too:
CA - 51.8
MG - 2.6
NA - 36.9
SO4 - 55.5
Cl - 61.4
HCO3 - 92.7
Should I worry about the Sodium that is being added from the Baking Soda?

I totally read that as "my sister's wake" at first glance. Woops!

I can't help you on an English Brown, but I thought that was worth a chuckle. Maybe don't tell your sister, though. That seems inauspicious. And "Wedding Day Wake" is not going to be a good name for this brew.

I just did some research on Brown Ale recipes for my latest brew.
Victory malt was usually used when 2 row was the base malt. Some recipes use both.
8 oz of chocolate malt is on the upper end and you have 12 oz.
The recipes I read used between 8 oz and 1.25# of crystal malt so you are on the low end but not unusual.
The Fuggles are the usual bittering hop. Most recipes also use EK Goldings as an aroma hop.