Brew Stand Set Up - What is the best?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HokieHomeBrew

Reaction score
I have a welder friend who is willing to build me any stand I want for only the cost of parts, even adding stainless steel tubing into the frame (much like the brew magic system). Anyways, I can go one tier, two tiers, or three and add pretty much anything I want. I want it to be versatile. It will be used for propane first. But I want to be able to change to natural gas if needed, or electric. What is the best? What is everyones suggestion? I am new to this. Any help is appreciated!

1 tier, with pumps.

Get some nice mounting spots for the pumps and a chiller and you're golden.

Multiple tier's is a pain and even more dangerous. The only reason to do so IMO, if you don't mind using pumps, is if you don't have the horizontal space needed for a single tier setup.

WHere would you mount the pumps? Underneath somehow and shield them? What if a boil over happens or something ? Whats the common practice to protect from this? And would I need 2 pumps or three for a 1 -tier system?

HokieHomeBrew said:
WHere would you mount the pumps? Underneath somehow and shield them? What if a boil over happens or something ? Whats the common practice to protect from this? And would I need 2 pumps or three for a 1 -tier system?

You can manage almost anything (e.g. HERMS) with just 2 pumps, although depending on your system, you may need quick disconnect hoses in order to switch them around so that the pumps can perform multiple tasks.