BJCP feedback, one dimensional

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shockey8oz

Reaction score
I just started getting into cider making about 6 months ago. I have not done much reading on the subject at all. I have been making beer since 2016, but not all of my friends/neighbors enjoy beer like I do. I tried my hand at making a simple cider and I ended up winning a festival and scaling up at a local brewery. As many of you know, festivals and BJCP competitions are two different animals. I am happy with a score of 35, but I want to improve my score. I have attached the scoresheets as an example of the comments I have received for my tart cherry cider.

I have entered that cider into a couple of comps now and I am getting the same feedback: one-dimensional. My recipes are very simple, so the note seems correct. I use generic store bought apple juice, ferment with nottingham, add 3 pounds of tart cherry puree to secondary, and back sweeten with juice/flavors to a specified gravity number. I don't pick and press mine own apples, I don't have that kind of time. One judges sheet mentioned lack of tannins. Will adding tannins add depth and complexity? Does actual cider have a more complex depth of flavor?

All thoughts and opinions are welcome.

Attachments

• tart_cherry_1.png
    tart_cherry_1.png
    339.6 KB · Views: 38
  • tart_cherry_2.png
    tart_cherry_2.png
    329.3 KB · Views: 32