Biab

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gooch48

Reaction score
I was hoping to get some advice about BIAB, I finally got a kettle big enough to try all grain but was thinking about doing the BIAB method to start out. I was curious as to everyones opinion on using BIAB instead of the traditional all-grain methods. Thanks in advance

I've been doing full volume BIAB for about 2 years now. I think I make good beer. BIAB is all grain by the way. I've helped a friend brew with the traditional 3 vessel method and it was fun but I felt it was a lot more work and equipment. He also makes really good beer. What size pot do you have?

I've just started brewing again. With a 5 gallon kettle and doing BIAB, I can mash and boil 3-gallon big beers and 4-gallon "normal" beers (about 4.5% to 5.5% ABV.) That's kind of the limit for my kitchen stove so a bigger kettle wouldn't help.

Someday pretty soon I may scale up a little to something (electric?) that can boil 7 gallons of wort, but I'm having fun brewing less than 5 gallons at a time and just brewing more often. I'm still working on the "more often" part.

I've been doing BIAB for 2 years and am happy sticking with it. I do 5.5 gal batches. By mashing at typical water/grain ratios and reserving some water for mash out and sparge, I have mashed up to 16 lbs of grain in my 9 gal tall boy on my kitchen stove. I use my old 5 gal BK for my mashout and sparge water. Works great and beats sweating/freezing in my garage.

I was hoping to get some advice about BIAB, I finally got a kettle big enough to try all grain but was thinking about doing the BIAB method to start out. I was curious as to everyones opinion on using BIAB instead of the traditional all-grain methods. Thanks in advance