BIAB Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCasey1992

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all!

I am brand new to BIAB (brewing my first one tomorrow) and I had a question. I only have an eight gallon kettle and one of the kits I will eventually be brewing has 16 pounds worth of grain. Knowing full well that there isn't enough room in the kettle for everything, I eventually want to buy a bigger boil kettle but until I can afford it, is there any reason I can't just add water later on in the boil to top it off? Also, what is the logic behind that?

Thank you,
Casey

You could do that or do a second mash with the grains if you have a second kettle. I use a canning pot and a lobster steamer pot sometimes when I brew a batch larger than 3 gallons. I hope that helps, and we'll see what more experienced folks have to say.

You can mash it all in your 8 gallon kettle and conduct a sparge in a bucket, or a cooler.

Aim to get 7 gallons preboil.

Yes, your 8 gallon pot is on the small side, but it really isn't preventing you from brewing AG beers. a larger kettle would be more convenient, but 8 will work.

What efficiency does that recipe expect? You might have good enough efficiency with your BIAB and finely crushed grains that you don't really need 10 pounds of grain. If not, your 8 gallon pot might work out fine.

Here is what I do for larger beers. I have an 8.5 gallon kettle for BIAB.