BIAB, Protein rest with mod/unmod grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JeffStewart

Reaction score
I've never done a protein rest before and I need some advice.
I'm doing a stout with:

50% Pilsner (Weyermann)
40% Wheat Malt, Dark (Weyermann)
8% Roasted Barley (Simpsons)
2% Chocolate Wheat Malt (Weyermann)

The dark wheat malt requires a protein rest, but I'm pretty sure the pilsner doesn't. My question is, even with the modified malt should I just raise the temp to 122F for 20 minutes and then sacch. rest @ 149 for 90min? I want the wheat malt to add the body, but don't won't to sacrifice losing the body from protein resting the pilsner. If that makes sense, like I've said, I've never done a protein rest before.

Thanks in advance.

I think the protein rest will help mainly with the yeast healthiness through the proteolytic processes, but should not affect the proteins in fully modified pilsner malt. Probably not necessary, but it won't hurt. I would say either way will do fine. However, if you want body I would suggest a higher mash temp for the sacch. rest, or start it at 149 for 30 min and then raise to 155-157. ..or just keep it at 154 the whole time. The wheat will add stability to the foam/head, but the higher sacch. rest will maintain more complex carbs that cannot be eaten by the yeasties and give your finished beer more body.

Ok, thanks. So rest @ 122F for 20min sounds good? Also, if I mash @ 154F do I still need a 90min boil to reduce any DMS from the pilsner malt?