Berliner Weisse isn't souring

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jisaacbeerkowski

Reaction score
I am new to the brewing game but not to the drinking game. I've only brewed a few batches and so I rely pretty heavily on others advice. I brewed a 5 gal Berliner Weisse six days ago with half a gallon of german ale extract. I pitched my lacto and was told to pitch the berliner weisse blend yeast strain six days later but was also told to taste the beer to check for sourness. I tasted it today and there is almost no recognizable sour notes in the beer and I am reading on here that it may take six months? We added coriander to the last five minutes of the boil and I intend to add salt to taste. I am going to pitch the berliner strain today and then keep waiting but it's all just a guessing game for me right now as there are many different opinions for this style of beer. How long do I wait? Do I need to keep it at a certain temperature? I have read 70-90 degrees is good for the bacteria. When do I add salt and how much? Basically...I have no idea what I'm doing with this recipe...sorry for the incompetents...I want to learn and get the beer right though.

are you brewing a berliner or a Gose?

Also, a more detailed timeline of your brewing process/ingredients would help answer questions. I'd be greatly speculating otherwise.

Used half a gallon German Ale extract at 120 degrees. brought it up to a boil for 60 minutes. dropped in the lacto and let it sit for six days with rotating temperature of 75-85 degrees. I have a berliner weisse blend yeast strain to pitch tonight. Brewed a berliner but I was thinking about moving for a gose with the coriander and the salt. the main goal is to get it sour though.