Beer storage

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Merleti

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
As a beginner I have found that I need to store my beer longer than the 3 weeks for the best taste. What methods do you use to store your batches? Should I just make some wood rack that I can stack?

For those that are just reading this post and not the rest of the thread please note that Old cardboard cases are not going to work for me. Those that are shocked remember if we all homebrewed the same there would only be one flavor of beer and that would suck.

h22lude I mean after bottling.
atom unfortunately I noticed my beer cardboard boxes get a little wet after cleaning the bottles and they do not hold up well. Also it is hard to find good beer that comes in full cases.
I'm looking for a uniform way to help save with space that can be used over and over.

Keep your eye out for empty milk crates, you can find them in the trash or some stores throw them out. I have all my bottles in them they are great cause they stack well

C w crate makes plastic cases that look and act a lot like cardboard ones, but they are waterproof and much, much tougher than cardboard. They are sized for 16 or 22 ounce bottles. They are a little spendy at $15 a box, but I really love them and they last forever, so I justify it as a convenience.

I use milk crates which stack and each can hold one case of beers in half the footprint of any beercase plastic or cardboard. And they stack to high heaven.

181316_10150091021744067_620469066_6196013_3815685_n.jpg

Finding milk crates are tough since places aren't supposed to throw them out and it is illegal to take them