beer in the bubbler?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pariah

Reaction score
Well, my bubbler wasn't bubbling so I gave my primary fermenter a good shake. It started bubbling, but a bunch of beer went through the bubbler and I'm worried about sanitation (since before, it was sanitized/sterile water). I've poured some sanitation solution into the bubbler, and since it didn't actually come off I'm wonder whether I should take it off and fill it back with only sanitized solution or...

Oh damn, my friend just shook it and even more stuff came out!

05290623102wh.jpg

What should I do??

Well if your beer is sanitized and your water was sanitized....why not just leave it in there? Cant see how that would be a problem...though im a newbie also.

It is bubbling at the rate of 7 to 9 per minute, it has been 45 hours since it was put in the primary. Does this sound right, or is something wrong?

pariah said:
It is bubbling at the rate of 7 to 9 per minute, it has been 45 hours since it was put in the primary. Does this sound right, or is something wrong?

sounds like you didnt use a starter...It will be ok, thats relatively normal. All yeast behave differently to some extent, there are no hard and fast rules that THEY follow. As for the beer in the bubbler, i say if you have another one clean and sanitize that and replace it. If not just take it off, quickly clean and sanitize it and replace it. Whatever you do STOP SHAKING the FERMENTER! the beer is doing fine now, just leave it and fow gedda bowd it (for 5 days or so)