Base 2-row malt - how often do you change it up?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 574

Dirty blonde
Reaction score
Most of my current ale recipes switch between British 2 row (Maris Otter) and domestic 2 row. I use the british base malt for my IPA, Porter & wheats. domestic for my common & two pale ale recipes.

I want to start buying 2-row in bulk but haven't yet because of how I switch between these base malts in my recipes. I like my recipes (nabbed from others mostly) and don't necessarily want to change them up. Where I am a newb is the different characters amongst these base malts. Is switching from the Maris to domestic really going to have a noticable affect on my final product? Is using the Maris throughout all going to improve those batches where I use domestic?

Locally I get domestic for .94 lb and the Maris for 1.69 lb. They sell the 50# bags at 1/2 this per lb rate. I'd gladly foot the bill for a 50 of Maris if superior. If its more of a sell job I'd also gladly save the $ and go with domestic. No, I haven't brewed batches switching it up to see if I can tell the diff...

I'm pretty much in the same boat as you. I have used MO and plain jane 2-row for my APA and the difference was very minor, if at all noticeable, to me. However, I don't have the most refined palate in the world. I do think the MO APA had a better body if I may be so bold.

To me, I'd go with basic 2-row for the difference in price and call it a day. Besides, if you really want to cover all bases, you better pick out a pils malt, as well, as I see some wits and wheats in your sig! Or just go with the 2-row... :)

Playing devil's advocate:

50 lbs is not such a mind-numbingly huge amount of base malt: we're talking 5-7 5-gallon batches.