Back Sweetening Cider Keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simplecj

Reaction score
So, I'm new to kegging, but loving it a lot after 7 years of bottling. Just kicked my second keg of hard cider last night. I have a 3gal carboy of cider that I want to mix with a couple gallons of grape juice to make a lower alcohol wine cooler for my wife. Cider is 7.6%, mix 3:2 should put it around 4% which is fine for my wife who doesn't drink that much. I'm actually looking forward to trying it out. I've done some appleberry wine from concentrates that turned out delicious. This will be my first time doing a heavily back sweetened wine and I don't want to screw it up.

My question is, do I need to kill off the yeast if this will be kept around 32F in my kegerator? I tried lightly back sweetening a 1 year old perry I did last year and it ended up carbonating in the bottle even though I used sulfites before bottling and after I had let it bulk age for over a year in my cold room at ~50F. I don't know how back sweetening works with kegging in a kegerator at low temps. I know that it would spell disaster if it fermented in an already force carbed system. What's the best way to kill off yeast? Apparently I can't trust potassium metabisulfites...

Just for fun, here's a pic of my Kegco KB309-2 kegerator with blacklight backlight... =)

10869727_10152948663747140_4646429414886860017_o.jpg