back sweeten Cider question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nordoe

Reaction score
So I am on my third Cider and looking to back sweeten it a bit. I have never done this before. The first time I used ale yeast and did not need to, the second time i used champagne yeast and it really dried it out. this time I am using wine yeast "cote de Blanc". It has been in the primary for a month now, I dont really like using a secondary. The OG was 1.084 and I checked last night and it is at 1.004. Went lower then I thought. I was hoping it would have stopped around 1.02 to 1.01, so now i want to back sweetin it a bit. I was thinking of using thawed frozen concentrate and transfer it to a Keg and let it sit for another month or so before force carbing it. Do you think the concentrate will ferment because I dont want any more alcohol, just sweetness? I dont like adding chemicals to drop out the yeast. what else can i use to sweeten that will not ferment?

It will ferment if it's not in the fridge. Either keep it in the fridge kegged until served, add pectic enzyme to kill the yeast before adding concentrate, use Splenda, or back sweeten as you serve it.

Yes, the concentrate will ferment out. It is apple juice with less water. You could add concentrate or apple juice, force carbonate and put it in the keggerator. The cold will also prevent additional fermentation.

Adding lactose, aspartame or splenda will sweeten the cider. None are fermentable sugars.

Oh it's way easier than that. Just add some potassium sorbate, 1 can of frozen concentrate and keg.

I've done 7 batches this way,.

Dont have any time to get to the home brew shop, do the sell potassium sorbate any where else? Is it used for other things?