Apricot: Extract vs Fruit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rich_F

Reaction score
I'm fermenting a pale ale, and it's getting close to the time when I'm going to rack to the secondary. I want to add some apricot flavoring to the beer. I want it to be somewhat similar to magic hat 9, but maybe not as pronounced. I've never used extract before, only actual fruit. Any opinions on what I should do here?

I've made an apricot ale twice now, both times using dried apricots and extract, but in varying proportions. I've tasted it after the dried apricot secondary fermentation before adding the extract, and there is a subtle apricot flavor. The extract adds a different dimension to the overall flavor, adding a little more highlight or crispness to the flavor, while the dried apricots seem to add more of a mellowness. If you do decide to add dried apricots, be ready for another fermentation. My yeast loved the added sugars. I diced the dried apricots, the pureed them in the food processor with some water, then added the slurry to the secondary and racked the beer on top.

If you are going to use extract, use it sparingly. I was going for a pale ale similar to #9, but wound up with a very fruity, apricotty brew instead. I used the Brewer's Best apricot extract (approx 1/2 bottle - 2oz.) on bottling day. In hindsight, I think I would use dried apricots in secondary and then use extract at kegging or bottling to adjust the flavor.