Anyone have a simple effective partial mash system/technique that they really like?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fanoffermentation

Reaction score
I am fairly new to partial mash brewing. Have a couple attempts that have gone well, but maybe it was luck. Are there any tried and true approaches to this that others have found user friendly and reproducible? I have been using a grain bag on the stovetop and sparging through a large strainer into my main brew pot for the boil and DME additions. My batches have been 2-3 gallon and it is occurring to me that it takes a long time with both 3 and 5 gallon batches, so I should make the most of my time and do larger batches probably. Any bits of wisdom?

Also, are there any big NO-NO's in the world of partial mash brewing? I prefer to learn from the colossal failures of others. Thanks so much!

I use a method similar to Deathbrewer's, there is a sticky, in the beginners forum I think. I mash on the stove in a five gallon kettle and my sparge is just a soak of the grains in a second kettle or bucket of 170 degree water for about ten minutes. It works great.

I am fairly new to partial mash brewing. Have a couple attempts that have gone well, but maybe it was luck. Are there any tried and true approaches to this that others have found user friendly and reproducible? I have been using a grain bag on the stovetop and sparging through a large strainer into my main brew pot for the boil and DME additions. My batches have been 2-3 gallon and it is occurring to me that it takes a long time with both 3 and 5 gallon batches, so I should make the most of my time and do larger batches probably. Any bits of wisdom?