Any accountants here???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dataz722

Reaction score
I just got married last year and I am going to be doing my taxes. The biggest question I have is whats the difference between filing seperatly or together? Does it make a difference? Do we typically get more one way or another? We would prefer to file seperatly if it makes no difference.

filling jointly gives your, supposedly, a great deduction

I am an accountant (a CPA), but as a disclaimer, I do not do taxes as a part of my job and am not a tax expert. The only thing I know is what I need to do my own taxes and what little I remember from memorizing for the exam and from school. That said, there are some specific circumstances when it is advantageous to file seperately. I could not answer your question though, without a lot of specific information that you probably would not want to share over the internet.

I am assuming that your income situation is fairly simple (i.e. w-2 income, retirement savings, home mortgage interest). If that is the case, go buy Turbo Tax or something equivalent. Most people's taxes are fairly simple and can be done in a few minutes, but Turbo Tax will catch little things that most people will never think about. It will also prepare the most advantagous filing based on the informaiton you give it. It is definitely worth it, and will save you time each year as it keeps the details from previous filings to help you. And no, I don't work for Turbo Tax.