Another glycol chiller fermentor

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

helterscelter

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey, I'm so exited right now that I just had to share. I just turned on my glycol chiller loop for the first time! Woot!

I've been collecting parts and working on this thing for close to 2 years off and on now.

I'm just running a cooling test now using water. Checking leaks and such. But as far as I can tell it's working as it should.

It still needs a lot more insulation and some buttoning up. I just couldn't wait.

I got the chiller of Craig's list a couple years ago. It's a retired draft line chiller. Had to learn how to diagnose and recharge the refrigerant to get it to cool.

The loop is made of 1/2inch stainless and brass pipe with 1/4inch 110v ac solenoids.

I'm intending to do mostly 10g batches in Sankey kegs (maybe try pressurized fermentation) , but also plan to get some cool zone brew jackets (if I'm remembering the name correctly) do I can hook up buckets or my fast ferment conicals.

I can't wait to try a lager. This has been a long time coming!!!

(The compressor just turned off since it reached the coolant set point.. damn jazzed.)

View attachment 1474662602608.jpg

View attachment 1474662615679.jpg

View attachment 1474662628239.jpg

View attachment 1474662642040.jpg

Interesting set up. I would get some blankets or something wrapped around those coils and keg for added insulation.

Interesting set up. I would get some blankets or something wrapped around those coils and keg for added insulation.

Working on that. I actually plan to wrap a heat wrap around it and cover the whole thing in Rockwool.. top bottom and all around.