Another Burner Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lab_Rat

Reaction score
New to the forum and looking for advice. I am putting together a list of equipment for All Grain Brewing and I need some advice on a propane burner. I know there are a lot of burner threads on here but I have yet to see a post recommending a burner that solved everyone's problems for a decent price.

As I see it I have a few choices:
1) KAB 4/6
Nice sturdy stand
Lots of BTU's
Decent Price
Way too much distance between the kettle and the burner

People have had trouble with the distance to burner (especially with a keggle). I have seen some decent mods to the stand to bring the burner closer to the kettle. However, I have no welding experience / equipment and I don't realy want to add another $20-30 in mods to a brand new burner just to get what I want.

2) Blichmann Burner
Nice sturdy stand
Decent BTUs
Short distace between kettle and Burner
Way expensive

I can't justify in my mind the cost of a Blichmann burner. Even their data on efficiency is unconvincing. They want $100 more for a burner that saves you 5 min of time and 0.2 pounds of propane. At that rate I would need to make ~500 batches to brake even.

Has anyone found a burner that has decent BTU's, a windscreen, a short distance from Kettle to burner, can fit large kettles / keggles, AND for a decent price.

You can make beer with a $40 turkey fryer, the question is how much do you want to spend and how much quality do you demand. Like anything, if you have a ton of variables, you can't really have a proper comparison to figure out what's right for you.