Airlock Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

y3m1

Reaction score
Im a noob just on my 1st batch

I realised today that my airlock isnt bubbling its just got air bubbles in the water any ideas what could be the problem...

ive got the water half way in the air lock

any idea what the prob is ? (or if problem at all)

need more info, how long has it been fermenting? the air look not bubbling doesn't mean there is something wrong

How long has it been since you pitched the yeast? It can take up to 24 and sometimes even up to 48 hours for fermentation to really take off. If its been that long make sure your airlock is pushed down all the way and that your lid is on your bucket tight. The CO2 will take the path of least resistance so if that's not your airlock then no bubbles.

What kind of fermenter are you using? Carboy? Bucket? Other?

If a carboy, are you sure you have the stopper pushed into the neck all the way to form a tight seal?

If a bucket, the lid on the bucket may not seal well and there is likely little you can do about it.

The common disclaimer is.. bubbling is NOT a sign of fermentation. I'm assuming (and that's dangerous) that you are not using a carboy as you'd SEE activity going on.

When did you pitch your yeast? Yesterday, Today, Three days ago???

What was the temperature of the wort when you tossed in/pitched your yeast? Also, if you kept the yeast packet.. did it have an expiration date on it?

What temperature are you fermenting at? It could well be a higher temperature than you think because yeast metabolism creates heat on it's own.