AG Equipment Musings / Questions / General Confusion

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mugglesport

Reaction score
I’ve been brewing for a couple of years now (starting with extract then moving to partial mash) and am ready to step up to all-grain brewing. Where I’m struggling is on the equipment end and figuring out what all I need in order to make this move. Where I eventually want to end up is with a sturdy single-tier 10 gallon brewhouse along the lines of Brutus 10, Brew Magic, etc. in order to have a high level of consistency between my batches (and maybe one day could be the foundation of my very own nano-brewery!). I plan on building or buying something within the next couple of years, for what it’s worth. However, I think it would be smart for me to take an intermediate step in order to get comfortable with AG brewing, rather than dive head-first into an expensive and complicated system. So, the question is how do I get from where I am to being able to brew AG batches effectively and efficiently, and I can I do it piece-by-piece, or do I need to get several pieces of equipment all at once? My current “brewhouse” includes:

• 30 Quart stainless steel brew kettle (a tall, skinny turkey fryer, actually…and the thinnest stainless pot ever made).
  • 8 Quart stainless stock pot for partial mashes / steeping (goes in the oven to keep it warm)
  • 120,000 BTU propane stove
  • “Large cooler of ice-water” wort chiller

Pretty much all of this (except maybe the stove) is obsolete. I have been planning making a MLT out of a 10 gallon cylindrical cooler. But this opens a whole can of worms:

• Is my brew kettle large enough for a full boil (I can boil 4 gallons but sometimes the hot break comes within a couple inches of the top of the kettle)?