Quantcast

Adding Old brew to new

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

vk1

Reaction score
Morning all! I am quite new to brewing- anyone ever tried mixing brews? My latest brew is too malty and sweet for my taste. I want to unbottle it and add it to a newer brew which is still under fermentation. Can I do that- must I add more yeast? It is already carbonated, but has anyone tried this and what has been their experience.
Look forward to hearing about the results!

VikeMan

It ain't all burritos and strippers, my friend.
Reaction score
Lots of people have blended (kegged) beers. Personally, I'm not an advocate of doing it to "fix" a beer. Also, IMO it's never a good idea to re-package beer that's already been bottled. That's a recipe for making an oxidized mess as the beer is agitated and exposed to air. The yeast in the still fermenting beer may use some of the oxygen introduced (depending on the stage of fermentation), but personally I wouldn't risk it.

Rob2010SS

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I agree with @VikeMan . Once the beer is packaged and carbonated, there's no way you can fix that without making it worse. When breweries do this on a larger scale, they're blending beers that have been aging and have not been packaged yet.

I'd chalk this up to a learning experience and let it be. I think you'll be thoroughly disappointed in the end product if you try and do this.

Reactions: vk1

IslandLizard

Progressive Brewing
Staff member
Mod
Lifetime Supporter HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Agreed, don't add bottled beer to your new batch.

Just finish and package the new beer. Maybe mix the two in your glass(es) at the ratio of choice. As usual, keep pouring until trub start to appear in the neck, don't tilt back before that, so you don't bloom the trub layer.

OP
vk1

vk1

Reaction score