Added way too much K-meta (no, I mean WAY too much)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LaCroixes

Reaction score
Since I'm new to winemaking (more of a homebrewer), I thought I'd start small with a Vintners Reserve 4-week kit.

I ended up not degassing enough before bottling, and 3 months later, my Cab-Zin blend is all sorts of bubbly. After reading many previous posts on possible remedies, I decided to take 3 gallons of my batch, pour gently back into a carboy, dose with K-meta, and splash rack over the next week or so.

The only problem? I misread the K-meta dosing amounts, and ended up adding 1 tsp/gallon. Not the stupidest thing I've done, but close.

What I want to know is, is this salvageable by further bulk aging, aggressive and frequent splash racking and/or dilution with another non-dosed wine kit? Or should I just chalk it up to experience and dump?

I'd try using a wine whip (like for degassing) and whip it often, and lots, for a week or two, and then taste a sample and see if you've managed to get much of it to dissipate.

Thanks for the responses. While waiting for advice from the forum, I poured the wine from bucket to bucket about 8 times and got a face full sulphur for my trouble.

I don't have a wine whip, but I will stir it semi-vigorously with a long-handled spoon after racking into a bucket.

cyberlord said:
If you have a drill you can fashion a whip out of a plastic coat hanger.

I was hard up one day and sanitized 2 long zip ties and put them together in somewhat of an "L" shape. I then chucked the contraption into my drill and gave it hell. It wasn't ideal, but it was the only thing I had that would fit through the neck of my Carboy.