50L nano-brewery set up under a pub

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigjock

Reaction score
Hi there,

I've been doing homebrew at home for a couple of years now and a pub around the corner was interested in me working with them to brew in their basement. I figured a 50L capacity set-up would be a good starting point. The aim is to have a "pubs-own" beer on tap every Friday night possibly building up to it being available all week.

I'm not sure whether to go for a 3-vessel setup (what I have at home) or a braumeister...Could anyone advise me on this?

Thanks,

Chris

I have no experience with commercial brewing, but 50 L sounds pretty small if you want to eventually upgrade to your beer being available all week. Would you be able to keep up with demand with that small of a system? If you're going to be buying a new setup for this endeavor, I'd consider going larger.

http://www.soundbrew.com/small.html

That's a good old link but it speaks more to production/wholesale breweries than brewpubs. Regardless 50l is awefully small. I think you should go as big as space allows. Is there room for many fermenters? How about for finished beer? Keg it or go with bright tanks or combo ferment/bright. You'll feel pretty dumb when that 50l sells out in a half hour.

I think starting small isn't a bad idea. Better to sell out than spend many thousands on a larger system only to find you can't sell enough beer. I'm sure that many of the customers will keep drinking their regular beer. 50 liters is 100+ pints. It may be a good idea to think of a system with room to expand.