2 Part question - what apple is this & can I get scion cuttings off the tree the apple came from

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cat Jenkins

Reaction score
So, to start with... I'm not sure is this is the correct forum to ask this in. There are a lot of topics! Anyway, I'm a newbie at this but I'd like to try my hand at hard cider. I currently have access to an apple tree that is bearing apples right now. I think this is a Newtown Pippin but I'm not sure. It looks like one but the apples are ready for harvest now (End of July - in Georgia) and this is almost 3 months earlier than what most sites say about harvesting time. I understand that USDA zone 7/8 is at the far side of optimum growing climate but I'm not sure it that accounts for the variance in harvest times.
The definitive characteristics of the apple are as follows:
Mostly green with some dusky rose blushing, russet stem cavity and white/cream light green inside. The apples are also lop-sided with one lobe larger than the other.

The apple tree is on some land that is currently up for sale. I can't wait for the tree to go dormant before collecting scions so not sure what I need to do. The tree is probably 25 years old and has never really been managed. I'd like to plant a couple of trees like this one on my place if possible. So any advice would be appreciated.

Attachments

• fullsizeoutput_2703.jpeg
    fullsizeoutput_2703.jpeg
    2.9 MB · Views: 80
So, you won’t have any success with scion wood at this time of year, but it’s the perfect time to attempt bud grafting. Which is actually really fun, if a bit tricky. I recommend getting some parafilm tape to wrap the graft union.

https://extension.psu.edu/bud-grafting-apple-trees