1ST Timer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jaspera

Reaction score
I am brand new to home brewing and am clueless where to start. Can anyone recommend a good beginner brewing kit and where to purchase it. I've always wanted to brew my own beer but never had time. Now I do, so any suggestions as to where, how, and good starter kits and recipes would be very very appreciative...CHEERS!!!

Last edited:
Your profile says you’re 19 years old, so I assume you’re looking to brew some root beer?

Kidding - totally wish I got into brewing in the dorms. I’d recommend reading John Palmers book “How to Brew” and going to your local home brew shop for a beginner kit. Most start with brewing extract kits to see if they like it enough to keep going and spending more $ on better equipment. They can probably sell you the book at the homebrew store, too. Palmer just released an updated edition and it’s the home-brewing bible, essentially.

I am brand new to home brewing and am clueless where to start. Can anyone recommend a good beginner brewing kit and where to purchase it. I've always wanted to brew my own beer but never had time. Now I do, so any suggestions as to where, how, and good starter kits and recipes would be very very appreciative...CHEERS!!!

Don't know how much money you're willing to devote to this, but if I were starting over and looking for a good but effective basic kit, here's what I'd get:

https://www.morebeer.com/products/premium-homebrew-starter-kit.html