1st hard cider attempt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bonamfortuna

Reaction score
So I am fairly new to this. I pressed 10 gal. of cider. I added about 8 lbs. of sugar to the cider to bring the SG to 1.090. I pitched a champagne yeast. I plan on stopping the fermentation at 1.010 using campden tabs. That should leave the ABV around 10.6%. I saved 2 gal. of the 10 gal. To add after fermentation to backsweeten it. That will put the estimated ABV to about 8.48% if my calculations are correct.

So here are my questions:
If I bottle the final product into wine bottles, is the ABV high enough to keep the product "good" for a long period of time (years)? Or do I need a higher ABV to preserve it at cellar temps?
Additionally, If I want to carbonate some of the cider, should I use a corny keg before bottling, or is there any way to naturally carb this, keeping in mind that I am trying to halt the fermentation at around 1.010.
Any feedback would be much appreciated. :) :mug:

Not sure about all of your questions, but yes you can naturally carb your cider by adding sugar back into your cider just before bottling. I've also read people putting 1/2 teaspoon of sugar per 12 oz. bottle then filling with cider. Some home brew supply stores sell sugar tablets or candy that you place in each bottle for carbing also.