10 Gallons stuck Traditional

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lpsumo

Reaction score
Hi all
I have been making mead off and on since 2012 but I have never had this problem

I started a Traditional on Sept 10th. 15 pounds honey, 5 gallons water, 2t DAP, and made a D47 starter with warm water, honey and some nutrient. Checked it a month later and it hadn't moved much, if at all (1.080) but had a slightly fermented smell. I didn't bother with an initial SG cause I have never had a batch not ferment dry. I added another teaspoon of DAP and gave it a good stir.

Still no action by October 21st. I made an all day starter with EC-1118, slowly introducing must every few hours for 12 hours, tossed that in and went away for 2 weeks.
Nov 5, no change. I pulled out about a gallon of must, diluted the remainder to 1.050 and made another all day starter with 2 packs of EC-1118.

Still no change, getting frustrated so I made another batch. 14 pounds of honey, water to 5 gallons, 1t DAP, all day starter with 2 packs of D47. It hasn't moved from 1.085

I ferment in the basement, so it's a little on the cooler side. Temp fluctuates between about 17C and 20C

Any thoughts? At what point does it go down the drain?

Where did you get the honey? Some place different from usual? It sounds to me like there's something present that's poisoning the yeast.

I mean, I've had batches refuse to take off, but it's always been because my ph was wicked low, (My cranberry mead.) or I'd added something with a preservative in it without noticing.

Honey is just standard costco stuff. I have never had an issue with it and have 2 other non traditional meads going well with it at the moment.