Can I steep Oats, Flaked?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Grinder12000

Reaction score
I have a OG recipe I'm converting to Extract and it contains

1lb Crystal 60L
1lb Oats, Flaked
.5lb Victory Malt
.25lb Chocolate Malt

All good but I've never use or considered Oats, Flaked.

Opinions? Substitutes??

thanks
Rod

I'm no expert in the matter, but I've used flaked oats in a partial mash twice, and both beers came out great, so I see no reason why they can't be used as a steeping grain, also.

Yes you can but simply steeping flaked grains does next to nothing other than getting them wet. kjung says he has used them successfully in a partial mash which is what you really need to do to them as an extract brewer. Doing a very basic partial mash is not a hell of a lot more difficult than steeping and will accomplish much more. Flaked grains are mostly starch and protein. They need to be exposed to the conversion enzymes from brewing malt to yield useful results in brewing. Mix your flaked grains and specialty grains with a couple of pounds of pale malt and do a partial mash. This will convert the starch in the flaked grain to sugar so it can be utilized in the brewing process.

Add 1.5 pounds of 2-row and mash for at 152F for 60 minutes. Subtract 1 pound of DME.

A VLGB helps.

(Very Large Grain Bag)

If you have a large kitchen strainer, you can do a partial mash.