#!*%, that surprized me.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vasie

Reaction score
:mad: Crap. I am new to kegging and this total caught me off guard. I have had a brew sitting at room temp in a keg for about 2 weeks now while I am building my kegerator. When i hooked up the gas to the keg, beer shot up my gas line lightning fast and got into my regulator! #@#!. That can't be good.

Do I need to take this regulator apart to clean it? Has this happened to anyone else? I also figure that I have to cut the gas line tube down a bit; I figure that both the gas and the dip tube are below liquid level.

What PSI was your regulator set at??

Might be a good idea to relieve pressure before re-hooking the gas.

Personally, I've never had that happen, but I don't condition with sugar anymore and the regulator always has 12-15 PSI behind it before I hook up the disconnects.

As for the regulator, are you SURE it got inside there? Some regulators have one-way valves to prevent this type of accident.

You will probably need to dismantle the regulator & clean it. I have check valves in all of my gas lines to avoid this problem. Venting the keg before hookup is also a good idea.

I always leave a couple inches of head space, even if that means putting part of the batch into plastic bottles.

That is most unfortunate. I hope I don't break this thing before I can dispense my first keg!

David knows what's up - just break it down, clean it up, and dry 'er out.

Just like a Dog Wash ;)

Did you have pressure on, or was the gas off? That could be it right there.

He's also correct about the head space.... not to imply anything... but you hit the right post, right? ;)