Is it infected???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dtgrdn

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
OK, I made a Kolsch, fermented for 4 weeks at 67 degrees, bottled last Monday and is in the basement at 70 degrees. Checked some of the bottles today and found this on all of them. Are they all infected? When I bottled it looked fine in the bucket.

IMG_20140726_093419652.jpg

IMG_20140726_093316352.jpg

IMG_20140726_093237069.jpg

I'm not an expert and am looking for information on infected beer myself. But the beers I have that I suspect are infected look nothing like that. They may have a really faint ring around the beer at the top but it's the flavor I'm suspecting.

I would say yours are definitely infected. I know this is a late reply but did you try one? If so, how did it taste and smell?

why so much airspace in your bottles?

Definitely looks infected, but maybe mold. If this were a bucket, you could rack beer out from beneath a layer of mold and things would ok. Tougher in a bottle.

HOw's it smell? Taste?

Huge airspace. Might have something to do with it.

Looks like a pellicle to me. Brett, but this is pretty fast ....... maybe the large airspace and oxygen is the cause of the rapid pellicle.

If you like Brett beers (and I do), it might turn out interesting.