what is wrong with my hops?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Luckyr

Reaction score
Questions: What is wrong with my Hops?

Info: These pictures were taken two weeks ago, but I got busy and am finally posting the query but they have not changed at all.

Background: I've been growing hops for 3 years, last year and this year they popped out of the ground in spring and shot up like gangbusters, I mean hot and heavy like they are growing to the moon and back, ....... but they around june/july they start to fade and look very pathetic. I did notice lots of aphids early on and treated them heavily with whiteflys and ladybug and even put up aphid traps, also see lots of spiders on them which I assume is good. I do not see a heavy infestation at the moment but I'm sure there are still a few hanging around. I have tried watering them heavy and tried watering them light but don't seem to notice a difference.
I had a soil test performed three years ago and my agronomist friend concluded that I have textbook perfect soil for growing hops
I do not apply fertilizer or pesticides, trying to keep as natural as possible. Put I do have white clover planted along with them to help fix nitrogen and act as a cover crop to keep moisture in.

The two varieties that are failing are Sterling and Cascade and are all 3-4 year old plants. The last hop in the pictures that is growing so beautifully is Newport. The tallest affected plants have 7-9 feet of growth but seem to lose some length once they peter out and the good plant has an easy 9 feet and is still going strong.