Testing water and mash PH

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewmegoodbeer

Reaction score
Hello,

I am fairly new to brewing (7 all grain batches) and I am now starting to learn about testing your mash ph and also your water quality to improve the quality of your beer.

1) mash ph- I understand you can get ph strips or a ph meter to measure you mash ph. When would you measure it? Before or after the protein rest? when would you put the additions in? I have read that you can use lactic acid to drive down the ph, but what can you use to drive up the ph if needed? I have also read that a target ph is anywhere from 5.2-5.5. Does this ph range differ for different beer styles or is this all across the board for yeast health and making the fermentation process better?

2) water quality- If you measure your ph and make the necessary adjustments to your mash, is it necessary to mess with your water quality? I use spring water from the gallon jugs that I buy at publix because it is definitely better quality than tap water (and tastes better). Should I be doing an assessment to see what minerals are in this spring water and if I should be adding anything?

Thank you!

Citric acid works nice too for driving down PH and I think it works better in lighter colored beers than lactic. I usually use baking soda to up the PH. A little goes a long way.

Your best bet for pH measurements is a good quality meter, it is hard to get accurate readings from test strips in the narrow range that we work in.