Spike CF5 lid pressure fail

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

T Murph

Homebrew Advocate
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm on batch three fermenting in a CF5 and can not get the lid clamp ring tight enough to hold pressure. Anyone else experiencing this issue. I have been fermenting under pressure in kegmenters for many years with no leaking issues. But this CF5 just can't pull it off.

What pressure are you trying to hold? Up to 15 PSI should be easy enough.

Getting used to the gasket was a bit of a learning curve for many Spike users. One important thing is the orientation. Make sure you are orienting it correctly with the square end sitting in the channel and the rounded end pointed toward the opposing lip. See this page for help and other ideas:
https://help.spikebrewing.com/suppo...do-i-correctly-install-my-conical-lid-gasket-
Make sure the rest of your seals are tight too. There are a lot of gaskets to get right. It is not hard to do with a bit of practice but can be a bit of a struggle out of the box.

The pointy end of the gasket contacts the CF body, not the lid. Lubricate the interior surfaces of the band clamp. As you tighten, tap around the outside edge of the band clamp, tighten a bit, repeat.