Recipe Feedback - 3 Northern Brewer Kits (SMASH Session, Irish Red, Nut Brown)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DGibb

Reaction score
Hey there everybody, can you help a fellow brewer out by checking on the kits I just ordered? I’ve been brewing for around 10-15 years off and on, and my brother has brewed with me 3 or 4 times. I am planning on doing a massive brew day next weekend with my brother and cranking minimum two of these batches out. I just got these three kits from Northern Brewer’s Columbus Day Sale ($14.92 each + yeast), and the reviews were generally good but not stellar.

Northern Brewer SMASH Session Ale – Simcoe/Pils

Northern Brewer Irish Red

Northern Brewer Nut Brown Ale

Are there any simple additions that anybody would suggest that I make to the above recipes (specifically to add a bit more mouthfeel and complexity to the Nut Brown or to a lesser degree the Irish Red)?

Should I keep with the yeast suggested? I’ve just got the DanStar dry Notty for the Nut Brown and Irish Red, I have to go pick up the yeast for the SMASH separately.

Looking forward to some feedback, thanks!

Although I cannot provide any suggestions to your original question, I can say that I too purchased three kits during the sale. I got the Irish Red, the Nut Brown and the Spiced Winter kits. I'm interested to hear what others may have to say about additions to the two that we have in common. Happy brewing!!