Question on this Flying Dog Porter recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MoreHopsPlz

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to the great home brewing experience (sticking to extract with grain brewing for now - have made 2 IPA batches) and have a few questions on this Flying Dog Porter recipe I got from Brew Your Own mag December 2006.

1) The recipe listed below calls for hops additions at 90, 60, 30, zero min (and then the dry hop addition). Then the recipe states "add first charge of hops and boil for 60 minutes..." This is really a 90 min boil right? I am assuming that the hop additions stated are when the wort is under boil / is there any other explanation?

2) I don't have a beverage cooler. Can I just use a separate pot on the stove to keep the grains steeping at 155 degrees (kept covered with a lid)?

3) Considering the length of the boil, how much water do you think I will be adding at the end? (I know that is likely challenging to predict with variability in the burner used, pot, using a lid, etc - though rough estimates welcome.) I was planning on using a large pot on the stove for the grain steep and a larger turkey fryer pot and burner (only dedicated to brewing) for the main boil.

4) Excited to try a porter loaded with Cascade, though, do you think 4 oz is, (difficult to say) "too much" to dry hop in 5 gallons? Would you notice a big difference if it was 2 or 3 oz rather than 4? (not sure how hop aromatics / flavor behave really given a specific volume of beer)

5) Any other considerations or things to consider with this recipe?

Thanks for any kind advice, I am hopeful that this turns out great,
-MHP

Flying Dog Gonzo Porter (Imperial Porter) Clone

5 gallons/19 L, extract with grains; OG = 1.088 FG = 1.025; IBU = 75 SRM = 84 ABV = 8.1%