Ohio Wild Black Raspberry Ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JakeKelley

Reaction score
During the cusp between late June and early July, wild black raspberries are at their prime in Ohio. Typically, people pick them off of their own property, and fortunately for me, I have a location where I can pick them. I am an epitomic amateur brewer (this is my second batch of all time) but I thought I'd make a wild black raspberry ale when I was afforded the opportunity. This is an extract recipe with steeping grains and it makes a 3 gallons of wort. This is an odd number, but I wanted the abv to be on the lower side compared to the Imperial IPAs I usually drink. It should be somewhere in the ballpark of 5.1% abv, potentially more.

I really wanted the hop flavor to be there, but I toned back the bittering hops to compliment the sourness of the berries I added. After researching for a low AA hop with fruity flavors, I ultimately decided upon using Australian Summer hop pellets exclusively. It is said that this hop produces fruity, peachy flavors when used for dry hopping, and I'm hoping I also receive those results.

If any veteran brewers notice any glaring mistakes in my brewing process, please by all means let me know. To reiterate, this is my second brew, my first one being an insanely high IBU IPA which I will be sharing pending a taste test. They say not to go overboard with extreme recipes when you're first starting out, but that's just not in me. Anyway, here's what I did:

Ingredients:
1lb strawberries
1 lemon
Brown sugar (for sprinkling)
Kosher salt (for sprinkling)

4 gallons Absopure spring water

3lbs golden light DME
8oz crystal malt 60L
8oz wheat malt
1oz Australian Summer hop pellets
2oz brown sugar
3/5 teaspoon Irish moss