IBU data for split batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stickyfinger

Reaction score
I just analyzed a batch of beer for IBUs for the first time and thought I'd share the information, which I found intriguing. I've never done it before, though I could have done it for years. I should have done it earlier!

Anyway, I made a 10 gallon batch using

16.3 lb German Pils
1.44 lb Caramunich 60L
0.48 lb Caramunich 120L
158F mash for 45 minutes

I boiled for 90 minutes and added 3 ounces of 3.1% AA Saaz whole cone hops for the entire boil. The hops are at least 2 years old but have been kept cold in the freezer. The boil was gently bubbling with moments of almost still interspersed with big belches of bubbles. Boil off was around 12% per hour.

I fermented half with Safale S-04 and half with Danstar Belle Saison (for fun)

OG was 1.046
FG S-04 was 1.013
FG B.S. was 1.004

At 18 days since brewing the beer, both are now in kegs and clearing slowly. The calculated IBUs from the Rooftop IBU website are 17.1.

The actual IBUs of the S-04 beer are 13.4
The actual IBUs of the Belle Saison beer are 16.9

So, it seems that the IBU calcs are pretty accurate, and the hops have maintained pretty good potency (though, I have to do more tests to see if things keep making sense.)

I thought it was interesting that the IBUs differed between the two beers. I had assumed it would be independent of yeast, then I found this article:

http://beerandwinejournal.com/yeast-strains-ibus/

I have no idea why one yeast would result in more IBUs than another. It's interesting. I thought it might have to do with flocculation effects at first, but they said wheat beer yeasts drop the IBUs a ton and a low flocculation yeast like WLP001 doesn't drop the IBUs well at all.